Nomination, Recognition & Past Recipients

Local Municipal Champion Award 


To recognize the great work done in advancing excellence in human services integration and service system management by teams from amongst CMSM and DSSAB staff across the province.  Teams may include CMSM and DSSAB staff in partnership with community organizations and/or initiatives where CMSM and DSSAB staff work together with their communities. 

Eligibility criteria are:

  • Teams of at least two different partners (groups or individuals); this is not an award for individual achievement.

  • The results of teams’ work must demonstrate a contribution to the advancement of human services integration.

  • The results of teams’ work must demonstrate a contribution to the advancement of local service system management. 

Nomination Process

The nominator must be the designated lead representative to OMSSA from each CMSM and DSSAB (i.e. the Commissioner, CAO of a DSSAB or General Manager etc.)

  • Each CMSM and DSSAB may only nominate one (1) team for this award every year.

  • OMSSA limits the total number of award recipients to fifteen (15) every year for this award.

Please download the nomination form here. Submissions can be made directly to the Awards and Recognition Committee at


Poster presentations developed by recipients will be displayed at the Leadership Symposium to allow delegates to browse and engage with the award recipients. Those being recognized will also be listed in the conference program and highlighted on the OMSSA website.  

Past Recipients

2017 Recipients

2016 Recipients

  • Leaders in Supporting Immigrant Integration, County of Simcoe
  • Homelessness Coordinated Response Team, City of Peterborough

2015 Recipients

2014 Recipients

  • Lanark Early Learning and Child Care Association, Lanark County
  • Integrated Human Services Planning Teams, City of Greater Sudbury
  • Growing Great Generations, Child Care Services, County of Wellington
  • OMSSA Zone 1, Lambton County, Chatham-Kent, Huron, London-Middlesex, Oxford, Stratford, St. Thomas-Elgin, and Windsor-Essex
  • Georgian Blue Gardens Revitalization Collaborative, County of Simcoe
  • Middlesex Social Services and County Library, County of Middlesex
  • Dufferin County Community Services and partnering agencies, Dufferin County
  • Neighbourhood Action Strategy, City of Hamilton
  • Canada Learning Bond Initiative, Region of Waterloo

2013 Recipients

  • Dufferin Coalition for Kids (DuCK), County of Dufferin
  • Waterloo Catholic District School Board Early Learning Implementation Team and the Waterloo Region District School Board Early Learning Implementation Team, Regional Municipality of Waterloo
  • Regional Poverty Reduction Steering Committee, Regional Municipality of Waterloo
  • Hostel Programs Unit and EMS Community Paramedicine Team, Regional Municipality of York
  • Community Partnership Council established under the Local Immigration Partnership Initiative, Regional Municipality of York
  • Helping Hands Team, City of Hamilton
  • Discretionary Benefits Review Advisory Group, Regional Municipality of Waterloo
  • Baamsedaa (Let's Walk Together), County of Lambton
  • Oppekehawaso Wekamik Centre, Cochrane DSSAB
  • Michele Campbell, Senior Advisor, Housing Services, Regional Municipality of Halton
  • Human Services Planning Board of York Region (HSPB-YR), Regional Municipality of York

2012 Recipients

  • Community Support Worker Program, County of Lambton
  • Community Homelessness Initiatives Network (CHIN), County of Lambton
  • Housing Stability Training Centre (HSTC), Region of Waterloo
  • Counseling Collaborative Program (CCP), Region of Waterloo
  • Ontario Works and Job Placement Team, City of Windsor
  • Supporting the Transition to Work Through Post-Secondary Education, Cochrane DSSAB

2011 Recipients

  • Hamilton Best Start Network
  • Child Care Special Needs Resourcing Partnership (CCSNRP), Region of Waterloo
  • The Human Services Planning Initiative (HSPI) Team, City of Hamilton
  • Waterloo Region Energy Assistance Program (WREAP)
  • Algoma DSAB Team
  • OMSSA LTAHS Advisory Group