2022 OMSSA Forum

  Program       Speakers       Registration  

Join Us at OMSSA's 2022 Forum

We‘re all tired of hearing about how the last three years have been unprecedented and a new normal and yet, what other way is there to describe what we have gone through? Unprecedented and new normal are no longer useful ways of describing our lives now. This is life now. 

The pandemic has dramatically transformed the way we work. For many OMSSA members, this period has brought on a heightened level of stress in our day-to-day jobs. There is a higher demand for human services, compounded by staff shortages, and the loss of experienced workers. And, we have not even factored in the change at home and what this has meant for us and our families! These collective and compounding changes have all taken a toll on our mental health.

How do we cope with this change and chart a new course?

OMSSA‘s 2022 Forum is devoted to delving into the issue of workplace mental health and the types of changes affecting human services workplaces.

Over two mornings we will discuss a number of workplace mental health topics that are relevant to all OMSSA members, such as: burnout, compassion fatigue and vicarious trauma, self-care, and more.

We hope to navigate these challenges in-depth while hearing from experts about possible solutions around coping with change, managing anxiety and fatigue, and building psychologically healthy and safe workplaces.

Whether you are a senior leader, manager, or frontline staff, the 2022 Forum will have something for you! 

Registration is Open!

Registration is now open for OMSSA's 2022 Forum on September 20 & 21, 2022. 

9:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. Daily

Register Now

Thank You to our Planning Committee:

  • (Chair) Tod Duncan, OMSSA

  • Sutha Balasingham, Regional Municipality of York

  • Kelly Black, Oxford County

  • Jocelyn Chadwick, Halton Region

  • Jennifer Dawson, City of Kingston

  • Christie Herrington, OMSSA

  • Tammy Kealey-Donaldson, Lanark County

  • Rob Kirsic, OMSSA

  • Jennifer Lible, Thunder Bay DSSAB

  • Jabari Lindsay, City of Toronto

  • Shari MacKenzie, Thunder Bay DSSAB

  • Geoffrey Rao, City of Ottawa

  • Jessica Rapcewicz, District of Manitoulin-Sudbury

  • Aisha Saintiche, Regional Municipality of York

  • Nalisha Sankreacha, OMSSA

  • John Trpeski, City of Windsor